A Twisted Tale

KICKSTARTER just launched

90% funded
See more

A Twisted Tale

Another Indie-Game? But of course!

Discover a humouristic point and click adventure inspired by all the masterpieces which made us stick to our computers back in the day (and wherefore we played outside way too infrequently). Full of loony characters, unexpected twists and challenging riddles.

Available on

  • Windows
  • Mac OS
  • Linux
  • Steam OS

About the game

Accompany Vio on her unintentional journey through various realms. Explore broken cities, pirate ships in the deepest jungle and other unreal places. Stand by her side when she makes the acquaintance of the (depressive) Death and engage with lots of explicit and ambiguous references, hommages and immitations of the big classics past (and not quite past) times.

We are a bit vintage - therefore we draw our background art the old-fashioned way with paper, pencil and ink. Colorizing is done digitally - this way we leave less colorful smudges on our desks.

Key Features

The developer

I’m Eva, a true frankfurt woman and the solo dev of this point & click adventure game. As the sole developer, I create A Twisted Tale from the first idea to the last line of Lua script. This means that also the story, dialogues and puzzles come from my pen, as the graphics and animations are created by me. I use paper and pencil for this, and I draw in ink. The graphics are digitised using a scanner and finally coloured on the PC. For the animations, I use the classic frame-by-frame method, and thus do without common animation software.
In the next step, the game is technically realised by me via Engine Visionaire Studios. Since the planned contents and their mechanics often exhaust and exceed the possibilities of the engine, I also use Lua script to realise them.

Eva in front of her computer, with the portal cube in her hand

As a child, I already had my own computer at an early age. Back then I played everything I could get my hands on, but I lost my heart to point & click adventures. I was hopelessly in love with George Stobbart's voice (Broken Sword) and loved finding bizarre solutions to even more bizarre puzzles in Monkey Island (3). My favourite point & click adventures also include Toonstruck, Orion Burger, King's Quest (7) and Indiana Jones and the fate of Atlantis.

Characters And Voices

Su Ling Chan is the voice actor of Vio in english

Vio
(Main Character)

Su Ling Chan

Since turning professional in 2012, Su Ling has voiced in 500+ commercials, 100+ corporate videos, a couple of animation series, video games, live-action dubs, and 1-2 audiobooks.

You may know her as Ying from Boboiboy, Mayday from No Straight Roads, and Ms Dira from Rimba Racer. She’s also the first (and only) Malaysian actress in an American anime dub where she voiced Akiya’s mom in Kageki Shoujo.

Kimi Mei is the voice actor of Vio in german

Vio
(Main Character)

Kimi Mei

Hi, my name is Kimi (Mei) and I am an aspiring voice actress from Germany! I am currently working my way up to finally be allowed to stand in studios and am therefore all the more happy that I get the chance to lend my voice to Vio in "A Twisted Tale"!

I can also be heard in the German Jackbox patch by JobJob as M. Bubbles or in the Deltarune radio plays by Louis Proll as Noelle.

Thank you to all who support and share this Kickstarter!

(❁´◡`❁)

Andrew James Spooner is the voice actor of the Depressive Death in english

Depressive Death
(Deuteragonist)

Andrew James Spooner

Andrew James Spooner is a puppeteer, actor and voiceover artist with over 25 years experience. As a puppeteer he performed on Muppet Treasure Island, Jim Henson’s Animal Show, The Hoobs, 101 Dalmatians, That Puppet Game Show, Muppets Most Wanted, The Furchester Hotel and The Dark Crystal Age Of Resistance. He also worked on Spitting Image in the mid 90s.

Andrew has appeared as an actor on a number of British TV shows including The Bill, The Knock, Inspector Morse, Lee and Dean and the recent reworking of the childrens classic Worzel Gummidge.

As a Voice Actor Andrew has appeared in a number of Audiodramas including Alien: Sea Of Sorrows, Unseen Academicals, The Sandman and The Christmas Pig for Audible, Doctor Who: Water Worlds, Doctor Who: Colony Of Fear, Unit:Nemesis and Master! for Big Finish, Passport To Oblivion and Getting Better for Spiteful Puppet, and Venna's Planet for B7 Media.

He's also leant his voice to video games including, Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, Cyberpunk 2077, Angry Birds: The Journey, Dying Light 2, The Witcher Monster Hunter and Baldur's Gate.

He also narrates audiobooks for The Black Library and Games Workshop set in the Warhammer universe.

Tom Vogt is the voice actor of the Depressive Death in german

Depressive Death
(Deuteragonist)

Tom Vogt

Tom Vogt is best known as the dubbing voice of Laurence Fishburne (Morpheus in Matrix) and Colin Firth (Bridget Jones, The King's Speech).

He is also often heard in documentaries and magazine programmes on TV (e.g. ttt on ARD), in commercials and occasionally voices audio books. Since 2020, Tom has been coaching actors and narrators in dubbing, commentary speaking, narrating audio books.

Oliver Smith is the voice actor of the shop keeper in english

Shop Keeper
(NPC)

Oliver Smith

Oliver Smith is a Northern Irish voice-over artist with one year of professional experience and over a decade of amateur and behind-the-scenes acting experience.

Since making his debut into the indie voice-over and voice acting scene last year, he has voiced Cleo's Dad in 'Cleo: A Pirate's Tale', which reached #1 on the Steam Hidden Gems game list. He has also voiced the role of Jarin Korliss in the audio drama 'Corellion' and will voice Atmosphere in the upcoming animation 'Atlas and the Stars'.

Kai Seuthe is the voice actor of the shop keeper in german

Shop Keeper
(NPC)

Kai Seuthe

Kai Seuthe is primarily a narrator for audio books, explainer videos, commercials and even more. But he also occasionally lends his voice to other characters as a voice actor. If you would like to hear more from him or would like to book him for your own projects, the best way is to contact him via his homepage www.kaiseuthe.de.

Another way to follow him is on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kaiseuthe

Melissa Thom is the voice actor of the Voodoo Woman in english

Voodoo Woman
(NPC)

Melissa Thom

Melissa Thom is a voice actor with over 30 years' experience. She has voiced for Rockstar Games & GTAV, Elder Scrolls, DOTA 2 & Disney, as well as numerous corporate and commercial clients.

She lived & worked as a VO in California, USA, for 2 years and is now based back in the UK as a full time voice actor. She is also the founder of BRAVA - a VO training academy that specialises in training people in the art & business of voiceover.

Karin Buchali is the voice actor of the Voodoo Woman in german

Voodoo Woman
(NPC)

Karin Buchali

Karin Buchali is known to many adventure fans as the german voice of the Voodoo Lady from Curse of Monkey Island or Pearl from Broken Sword 1 + 2.

Many big radio plays, some nice TV roles, big and small - Karin Buchali does dubbing, radio, advertising, training films and since a few years works as a very sought-after voice teacher. Every task is important to her and should be skilfully realised. This also includes her solo evenings. She has also enjoyed performing in comedies, musicals and cabaret for many years.

Rubicks Cube

And what the heck is up with this wannabe rubicks cube?

Stay in the loop and follow me!

I only send you a mail when I have more important updates.
For the day-to-day stuff, follow me on twitter, here:

@TaleTwisted @EvaATwistedTale
You can contact me as well via email! !

A Twisted Tale

KICKSTARTER just launched

90% funded
See more
A Twisted Tale

A Twisted Tale

Schon wieder so ein Indie-Game? Aber sicher!

Entdecke ein humoristisches Point & Click Adventure, inspiriert von all den Meisterwerken, die uns damals an den PC kleben ließen (und weswegen wir viel zu wenig draußen gespielt haben). Voller schräger Charaktere, unerwartete Wendungen und herausfordernde Rätsel.

Verfügbar auf

  • Windows
  • Mac OS
  • Linux
  • Steam OS

Über das Spiel

Begleite Vio auf ihrer ungewollten Reise durch verschiedenste Welten. Erkunde zerbrochene Städte, Piratenschiffe im tiefsten Dschungel und andere unwirkliche Orte. Stehe ihr bei, wenn sie Bekanntschaft mit dem (depressiven) Tod macht und lass dich ein auf viele eindeutige und uneindeutige Anspielungen, Hommages und Anlehnungen an die großen Klassiker vergangener (und nicht ganz so vergangener) Zeiten.

Wir sind ein wenig retro, deswegen zeichnen wir unsere Hintergrundgrafiken ganz oldschool mit Papier, Bleistift und Ink. Coloriert werden sie dann digital, so hinterlassen wir nicht zu viele Farbkleckse auf unsere Schreibtische.

Key Features

Die Entwicklerin

Ich bin Eva, ein waschechtes frankfurter Mädscher und Solodev dieses Point & Click Adventures. Als alleinige Entwicklerin erschaffe ich A Twisted Tale von der ersten Idee bis zur letzten Zeile Lua-Skript. Das bedeutet, dass sowohl die Geschichte, Dialoge und Rätsel aus meiner Feder stammen, als auch die Grafiken und Animationen von mir erstellt werden. Ich benutze hierfür Papier und Bleistift, reingezeichnet wird es mit Tinte. Über einen Scanner werden die Grafiken digitalisiert und am PC schließlich koloriert. Für die Animationen verwende ich das klassische Frame-by-Frame-Verfahren, und verzichte damit auf gängige Animationssoftware.
Im nächsten Schritt wird das Spiel von mir über die Engine Visionaire Studios technisch umgesetzt. Da die geplanten Inhalte und ihre Mechanik die Möglichkeiten der Engine oftmals ausreizen und übersteigen, verwende ich zusätzlich Lua-Skript um diese zu realisieren.

Eva vor ihrem Computer mit einem Portalwürfel in der Hand

Als Kind besaß ich bereits recht früh einen eigenen Computer. Ich spielte damals alles, was mir in die Finger kam, mein Herz habe ich aber an Point & Click Adventures verloren. Ich war hoffnungslos verliebt in George Stobbarts Stimme (Baphomets Fluch) und liebte es in Monkey Island (3) skurrile Lösungen für noch skurrilere Rätsel zu finden. Zu meinen liebsten Point & Click Adventures gehören außerdem Toonstruck, Orion Burger, King’s Quest (7) und Indiana Jones and the fate of Atlantis

Charaktere und Stimmen

Kimi Mei spricht Vio auf Deutsch

Vio
(Hauptcharakter)

Kimi Mei

Hi, mein Name ist Kimi (Mei) und ich bin eine angehende Synchronsprecherin aus Deutschland! Ich bin gerade dabei mich hochzuarbeiten, um endlich in Studios stehen zu dürfen und freue mich deswegen um so mehr, dass ich die Chance bekomme Vio in "A Twisted Tale" meine Stimme zu leihen!

Sonst zu hören bin ich in dem deutschen Jackbox-Patch von JobJob als M. Bubbles oder in den Deltarune-Hörspielen von Louis Proll als Noelle.

Ich bedanke mich an alle, die diesen Kickstarter unterstützen und teilen!

(❁´◡`❁)

Su Ling Chan spricht Vio auf Englisch

Vio
(Hauptcharakter)

Su Ling Chan

Seit sie 2012 professionelle Synchronsprecherin wurde, hat Su Ling in mehr als 500 Werbespots, mehr als 100 Unternehmensvideos, einigen Zeichentrickserien, Videospielen, Live-Action-Synchronisationen und 1-2 Hörbüchern mitgewirkt.

Ihr kennt sie vielleicht als Ying aus Boboiboy, Mayday aus No Straight Roads und Ms. Dira aus Rimba Racer. Sie ist auch die erste (und einzige) malaysische Schauspielerin in einer amerikanischen Anime-Synchronisation, wo sie Akiyas Mutter in Kageki Shoujo verkörperte.

Tom Vogt spricht den Depressiven Tod auf Deutsch

Depressiver Tod
(Deuteragonist)

Tom Vogt

Tom Vogt ist vor allem als Synchronstimme von Laurence Fishburne (Morpheus in Matrix) und Colin Firth (Bridget Jones, The King’s Speech) bekannnt.

Außerdem hört man ihn oft in Dokus und Magazinsendungen im TV (z. B. ttt in der ARD), in der Werbung und gelegentlich spricht er Hörbücher. Seit 2020 coacht Tom Schauspieler und Sprecher im Synchronisieren, Kommentarsprechen, Erzählen von Hörbüchern

Ihr findet ihn auf www.tomvogt.de und sprechercoaching-online.de

Andrew James Spooner spricht den Depressiven Tod auf Englisch

Depressiver Tod
(Deuteragonist)

Andrew James Spooner

Andrew James Spooner ist ein Puppenspieler, Schauspieler und Synchronsprecher mit über 25 Jahren Erfahrung. Als Puppenspieler wirkte er bei Muppet Treasure Island, Jim Henson's Animal Show, The Hoobs, 101 Dalmatiner, That Puppet Game Show, Muppets Most Wanted, The Furchester Hotel und The Dark Crystal Age Of Resistance mit. Mitte der 90er Jahre arbeitete er auch an Spitting Image mit.

Andrew hat als Schauspieler in einer Reihe von britischen Fernsehserien mitgewirkt, darunter The Bill, The Knock, Inspector Morse, Lee and Dean und die jüngste Neuauflage des Kinderbuchklassikers Worzel Gummidge.

Als Synchronsprecher hat Andrew in einer Reihe von Hörspielen mitgewirkt, darunter Alien: Sea Of Sorrows, Unseen Academicals, The Sandman und The Christmas Pig für Audible, Doctor Who: Water Worlds, Doctor Who: Colony Of Fear, Unit:Nemesis und Master! für Big Finish, Passport To Oblivion und Getting Better für Spiteful Puppet, und Venna's Planet für B7 Media.

Er hat auch Videospielen seine Stimme geliehen, darunter Lego Star Wars: The Skywalker Saga, Cyberpunk 2077, Angry Birds: The Journey, Dying Light 2, The Witcher Monster Hunter und Baldur's Gate.

Er spricht auch Hörbücher für The Black Library und Games Workshop, die im Warhammer-Universum spielen.

Kai Seuthe spricht den Antiquitätenhändler auf Deutsch

Antiquitätenhändler
(NPC)

Kai Seuthe

Kai Seuthe ist in erster Linie Sprecher für Hörbücher, Erklärvideos, Werbungen und noch mehr. Aber auch als Voice-Actor leiht er gelegentlich seine Stimme anderen Figuren. Wer mehr von ihm hören möchte oder ihn auch mal selber für seine Projekte in Anspruch nehmen will, der meldet sich am besten über seine Homepage www.kaiseuthe.de bei ihm.

Eine weitere Möglichkeit, ihm zu folgen, ist Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kaiseuthe

Oliver Smith spricht den Antiquitätenhändler auf Englisch

Antiquitätenhändler
(NPC)

Oliver Smith

Oliver Smith ist ein nordirischer Synchronsprecher mit einem Jahr professioneller Berufserfahrung und mit über einem Jahrzehnt Erfahrung als hinter-den-Kulissen Amateur.

Seit seinem Debüt in der Indie-Voice-Over- und Voice-Acting-Szene im letzten Jahr hat er Cleos Vater in "Cleo: A Pirate's Tale" seine Stimme geliehen. Das Spiel erreichte Platz 1 der Steam Hidden Gems Liste. Außerdem hat er die Rolle von Jarin Korliss in dem Hörspiel "Corellion" gesprochen und wird Atmosphere in der kommenden Animation "Atlas and the Stars" sprechen.

Karin Buchali spricht Voodoo Woman auf Deutsch

Voodoo Woman
(NPC)

Karin Buchali

Karin Buchali kennen viele Adventurefans vorallem als deutsche Stimme der Voodoo Lady aus Curse of Monkey Island oder Pearl aus Baphomets Fluch 1 + 2.

Viele große Hörspiele, einige schöne Fernsehrollen, groß und klein - Karin Buchali ist viel unterwegs in Sachen "Guten Tons", Synchron, Funk, Werbung, Schulungsfilme und seit ein paar Jahren als sehr gefragte Sprecherzieherin. Jede Aufgabe ist ihr wichtig und soll gekonnt umgesetzt werden. Dazu zählen auch ihre Soloabende. Außerdem spielt sie schon seit langen Jahren mit viel Spaß Komödien, Musicals und Kabarett.

Melissa Thom spricht Voodoo Woman auf Englisch

Voodoo Woman
(NPC)

Melissa Thom

Melissa Thom ist eine Synchronsprecherin mit über 30 Jahren Erfahrung. Sie hat für Rockstar Games & GTAV, Elder Scrolls, DOTA 2 & Disney, sowie für zahlreiche Firmen- und Werbekunden gesprochen.

Sie lebte und arbeitete 2 Jahre lang als Sprecherin in Kalifornien, USA, und ist jetzt wieder als Vollzeit-Sprecherin in Großbritannien tätig. Sie ist auch die Gründerin von BRAVA - einer Sprecherausbildungsakademie, die sich auf die Ausbildung von Sprechern spezialisiert hat.

Rubicks Cube

Und was zum Geier hat es mit diesem möchtegern Rubicks Cube auf sich?

Bleib am Ball und folge mir!

Ich sende dir nur eine Mail, wenn ich wichtige Neuigkeiten habe.
Für tägliche Dinge, folge mir hier auf Twitter:

@TaleTwisted @EvaATwistedTale
Du kannst mich ebenfalls per E-Mail kontaktieren !